Prophets In Time Order

Conventional Bibles present the writings of the hebrew scriptures in the order used by the King James Bibles, which is based on Rabbinical teaching. A problem with this ordering is that writings are jumbled in time flow, making overall comprehension of ancient events more difficult for the new reader.

This page presents them in a chronological order. Because the individual authors did not include dates in their works, but may have referred to a contemporaneous monarch, and because over two millenia have passed since their writing, there is no agreement between scholars as to the exact dates. Even the time periods of some of the authors are in dispute. Obadiah might be listed before the Assyrian invasion by some, and after that invasion by others. However, the general ordering is helpful for time context.
The classification shown here uses periods

After King Solomon until the Invasion by Assyria

Approximately 830 - 720 BCE
During the Two Divided Kingdoms
"Basic" wording"Plain" wording
Obadiah Obadiah
Joel Joel
Jonah Jonah
Amos Amos
Hosea Hosea
Isaiah Isaiah
Micah Micah

After the Conquest of Israel Until the Conquest of Judah

Approximately 720 - 600 BCE
After the Removal of the Northern Kingdom
"Basic" wording"Plain" wording
Nahum Nahum
Zephaniah Zephaniah
Jeremiah Jeremiah
Habakkuk Habakkuk

After the Conquest by Babylonians Until the Release by the Persians

Approximately 600 - 520 BCE
While Both Kingdoms in Exile
"Basic" wording"Plain" wording
Ezekiel Ezekiel
Daniel Daniel

Approximately 520 - 430 BCE
After Return of Southern Kingdom from Exile
"Basic" wording"Plain" wording
Haggai Haggai
Zechariah Zechariah
Malachi Malachi

Other writings from this period are:
"Basic" wording"Plain" wording
Esther Esther
Ezra Ezra
Nehemiah Nehemiah
Some of the prophets, e.g. Moses, are not included in this page, which concentrates on the Major Prophets and the Minor Prophets.
Time order in this version is in accordance with Survey of the Old testament by Paul N Benware. Some sources use different datings.

Copyright Selwyn Russell 1995, 1997, 2005, 2006, 2007, ..., 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023  

Latest update: December 2023

URL of this page: See also,